Thursday, November 15, 2012

Senate Committee Disappears into Thin Air!

True fact: No current member of the Senate Public Affairs Committee will be back when the Legislature reconvenes in January.

Here's the deal. Chairwoman Dede Feldman, Vice Chairman Tim Eichenberg (both D-Albuquerque) and members, Sens. Cynthia Nava, D-Las Cruces, Mark Boitano, R-Albuquerque, Vern Asbill, R-Carlsbad and Eric Griego, D-Albuquerque, did not seek re-election.

The remaining members, Sens. Mary Jane Garcia, D-Dona Ana and Lisa Curtis, D-Albuquerque were defeated for re-election.

If the Senate was hoping for some institutional memory on this committee, they're out of luck.

Sen. Sander Rue, R-Albuquerque, I understand, was the first to notice this.

UPDATE: 3:44 pm In the original version, I mistakenly called the Public Affairs Committee "Public Works." It's been corrected.