Saturday, December 11, 2010

Senate GOP Chooses Neville For Caucus Chairman

Both party caucuses in the state Senate met today to decide leadership business.

The Senate Republicans chose Sen. Steve Neville of Farmington to replace Sen. Dianna Duran of Tularosa as their caucus chair. Duran will soon resign from the Senate to become secretary of state.

The Senate Democrats voted to retain their current leaders, Sen. Michael Sanchez of Belen as Majority Leader, Sen. Mary Jane Garcia as whip and Sen David Ulibarri of Grants as caucus chairman.

Unlike two years ago, the Dems also voted to back current Senate President Pro-tem Tim Jennings, D-Roswell. In 2008 the Senate Democrats nominated Sen. Carlos Cisneros of Questa for the pro-tem post. But Jennings hung on with the support of a minority of Democrats and the entire Republican caucus.